No Comments on 1961


About 1960/61, Penticton Peach Festival Parade? Legion sponsorship suggests 8th Penticton Cubs and Scouts



1st Summerland Group
1st Summerland Cubs, Colin J. McKenzie Cubmaster
1st Summerland Scouts, Don Fisher Scoutmaster
Group Chair R.J. Barkwill
Sponsored by Branch 22, Royal Canadian Legion
Scouts John Beaven, Jim Fiske and Ronald Bangma achieved Queen Scout status
Scout Fred Trussell attended 3rd Canadian Jamboree in Ottawa

2nd Summerland Group
2nd Summerland Cubs
2nd Summerland Scouts, B J Hubbard SM
Sponsored by United Church

1st Trout Creek Group
1st Trout Creek Cubs

1st Penticton Group
1st Penticton Scouts, Jack Stocks, Scoutmaster
Scouts Chris Hatfield and Ron Dean attend 3rd Canadian Jamboree in Ottawa, July 6 to 15, 1961

3rd Penticton Group
3rd Penticton Cubs, Jack Sworder Leader
3rd Penticton Scouts, Irwin Hobden Scoutmaster
Sponsored by Anglican Church

6th Penticton Group
6th Penticton Cubs, Art Malkinson Akela
6th Penticton Scouts, Bob Winter Scoutmaster

9th Penticton Group
9th Penticton Cubs, Joan Grimsdick Akela
9th Penticton Scouts, Bob Winnter Scoutmaster
Sponsored by United Church

8th Penticton Group
8th Penticton Cubs
8th Penticton Scouts, Tony Day Scoutmaster
Sponsored by Royal Canadian Legion

1st Okanagan Falls Group
First Okanagan Falls Scouts, Robert Hall Scoutmaster
Group Committee Audrey Steeves

1st Princeton Group
1st Princeton Cubs, Leaders Bob Logan, Graham Taylor, Cliff Caverly
1st Princeton Scouts, Leaders Bob Logan, George Gibson, Bill Stevens, Jim Sproston, Sandy Marsel
Group Chair Fred Smith
Sponsored by Kinsmen

1st Oliver Group

2nd Oliver Group
2nd Oliver Cubs, Melvin Shannon Akela. In january, 1962 Frank La Bounty takes over as Akela.
2nd Oliver Scouts, Jim Smith Scoutmaster, Gary Cotner ASM(?).  Previous Scouters include Cy Overton and Carleton NcNaughton (specific years?).
President R Shannon

1st Osoyoos Group
1st Osoyoos Cubs “A” Pack, Stu Valentine Akela, Grant Young ACM, Doug Dixon ACM, Fran Goodman ACM   24 Cubs)
1st Osoyoos Cubs “B” Pack, J. Hutton Akela (?), Ros Barton ACM, Henry Ruck ACM, Eric Goodman ACM   (19 Cubs)
1st Osoyoos Scouts “A” Troop, Harold King Scoutmaster   (23 Scouts)
1st Osoyoos Scouts “B” Troop, Joe Halverson Scoutmaster (?), Mike Dodd ASM, Mr Vikanes (?) ASM

District Commissioner Jim Laidlaw  (South OK)
District Commissioner Harold King (Kubau)
Regional Commissioner Jim Mitchell


The 3rd Canadian Jamboree was held in 1961 in Connaught Ranges near Ottawa, Ontario. 2095 Scouts were in attendance. Ron Dean and Chris Hatfield attended from 1st Penticton with Fred Trussell from 1st Summerland. Unknown Scouts from Oliver also attended.

Leave a Reply