No Comments on 1956

Groups active? Numbers?

1st Summerland Group
1st Summerland Cubs, Dr. J.M. McArthur (later Trout Creek Group????), A.W. Moyls ACM, Eileen McArthur ACM
1st Summerland Scouts, D.M. Munn Scoutmaster, Don Fisher ASM, Mr Brinton ASM
Group Chair A.W. Watt
Sponsored by Branch 22, Royal Canadian Legion
Scouts Harold Oxley, John Woolliams and Ted Hannah achieved Queen Scout status

2nd Summerland Group
2nd Summerland Cubs, Mrs McCargar Akela?, Mrs G Beggs ACM? or W.D. Charles Akela, George Chadburn ACM, Marvin Henker ACM
2nd Summerland Scouts, H. A. McCargar Scoutmaster, William Clark ASM
McGibbon Group Chair
Sponsored by United Church

1st Penticton Group
1st Penticton Cubs, Leaders June McFarland, Mrs Millington
1st Penticton Scouts, Jack Stocks Scoutmaster, Ron Bradshaw ASM, Jack Boulding ASM
1st Penticton Rovers, Harley Hatfield Advisor, Don Jones Advisor
Group Chair Len Hill (Avery King on Committee)
Scouts Jack Boulding, Bruce Dalrymple and Lyall Chambers achieve Queen’s Scout status
A community-sponsored Group

Group adopted new neckerchief colour: red

2nd Penticton Group
2nd Penticton Cubs, Mrs E Baulkam Akela
2nd Penticton Scouts
Millership Group Chair
Sponsored by Presbyterian Church

3rd Penticton Group
3rd Penticton Cubs, June Cuming Akela, A. Roe ACM, L Orr ACM, June McFarland ACM, Val Peterson ACM
3rd Penticton Scouts, Irwin Hobden Scoutmaster, Harold Barritt ASM
Group Chair Lawrence Bartlett
Sponsored by Anglican Church

4th Penticton Group started late season
4th Penticton Cubs
4th Penticton Scouts
Mr Groot Group Chair

5th Penticton Group
5th Penticton Cubs, H.C. Chamberlain Akela, Ella Chamberlain ACM
5th Penticton Scouts, Steve Stogre Scoutmaster (succeeded by R. C. Gordon)
Mrs Richter Group Chair
Sponsored by Penticton Oddfellows

6th Penticton Group
6th Penticton Cubs, Mrs M McKinnon Akela, 18 Cubs, later Mr Vass Akela
Mr Vass Group Chair
Sponsored by United Church

7th Penticton Group started in late season
7th Penticton Scouts, Mr Light SM?
Mr Knight Group Chair?

1st Naramata Group
1st Naramata Cubs, Marjorie Russell Akela, Mrs Jesse Tyndall ACM, Phillip Workman Jr ACM
1st Naramata Scouts, Gwyn Russell Scoutmaster, R.G. Hancock ASM, H.G. Raitt ASM
Group Chair Cyril Raymond (succeeded by W.G. Clough).


1st Keremeos Group
1st Keremeos Cubs, Mrs Douglas Parsons Akela, Mrs George Schneider ACM, Mrs Mennell Bagheera
Jim Laidlaw/Gwyn Russell presented this Group a new Charter in May, 1957

1st Okanagan Falls Group
1st Okanagan Falls Cubs

1st Oliver Group
1st Oliver Scouts
Scout Bob Hayter achieves Queen’s Scout status

2nd Oliver Group
2nd Oliver Scouts, Jim Smith Scoutmaster, R Malcolm ASM

1st Osoyoos Group
1st Osoyoos Cubs “A” Pack, Geoffrey King Akela
1st Osoyoos Cubs “B” Pack, Roy Degenstein Akela, Mrs McHugh ACM
1st Osoyoos Scouts, Harold King Scoutmaster
Scouts Michael Mepham, George Sutton and John Pleva achieve Queen’s Scout status

District Commissioner, J.B. (Jim) Laidlaw (South OK)
District Commissioner Jim Mitchell (Okanagan Boundary)
District Cubmaster Isabel McCargar
June Cuming DCM
ADC Training Gwyn Russell
District Scoutmaster Carleton McNaughton
District Scoutmaster Gordon Blewett
District President Keith Farhni (“Similkameen Valley District”: Princeton-Copper Mountain area)
District President Frank McDonald (Kubau)
District President Dr Anstey OK South)
Frank McDonald assisted at Cub Camporee
Jack Stocks receives Medal of Merit for 20 years service

Leave a Reply