No Comments on 1959


B.C. Yukon Annual Reports. Most have not been archived. Do you have any copies?

  I am guessing this is Vernon, parading to arrival of Royalty, 1959

16 Groups in District. 360 Cubs, 196 Scouts, 10 Rovers, 73 Scouters

All Interior Districts are now joined as Okanagan-Mainline Region as a temporary step toward creating a new, official structure to Scouting in B.C.

1st Summerland Group
1st Summerland Cubs, F.M. Trussell Akela, Colin J. McKenzie ACM, W.C. Baker ACM, Stan Krause ACM, Don McArthur ACM, William Walker ACM
1st Summerland Scouts, Rob B. Towgood Scoutmaster, John Bennest ASM, Murray Boas ASM
Group Chair Dr. D.V. Fisher
Sponsored by Branch 22, Royal Canadian Legion

2nd Summerland Group
2nd Summerland Cubs, Mrs Al Coffey CM
2nd Summerland Scouts
Sponsored by United Church

1st Trout Creek Group
1st Trout Creek Cubs

1st Naramata Group
1st Naramata Cubs, Mary Lamb, Akela
Group Chair Philip Workman

1 Naramata badge

1st Penticton Group
1st Penticton Cubs, June Snell Akela?
1st Penticton Scouts, Jack Stocks Scoutmaster, Ted Morgenstern ASM, Bill Findlay ASM, Avery King ASM

2nd Penticton Group
2nd Penticton Cubs, ACM Douglas Paterson
2nd Penticton Scouts, D Keir ASM
Group Chair Wes Wensley

3rd Penticton Group
3rd Penticton Cubs, CM Mona Ante
3rd Penticton Scouts, Irwin Hobden Scoutmaster
Sponsored by Anglican Church
Group Chair John Edwards

4th Penticton Group
4th Penticton Scouts, SM Loren Renz, ASM William Perkins

5th Penticton Group
5th Penticton Scouts, W A Butler ASM

6th Penticton Group
6th Penticton Cubs, 2 packs, Leaders B Manery, Bob McQuarrie
6th Penticton Scouts, 2 troops, Bob Winter Scoutmaster of second troop (“Pioneer Troop”), George Leigh Scoutmaster, Roy Winterburn ASM
Sponsored by United Church
Group Chair Steve Canning

Scouts Jim Crook, Rick Wickett, Len Hill, Grant McMorland and Duffy Chambers achieve Queen’s Scout status.

7th Penticton Group
7th Penticton Cubs

8th Penticton Group
8th Penticton Cubs, Mrs A.T. Ante Akela, Don Gray ACM
8th Penticton Scouts, Bill Casler SM
Sponsored by Royal Canadian Legion

1st West Bench Group

1st Kaleden Group
1st Kaleden Cubs
Sponsored by Baptist Church

1st Keremeos Group
1st Keremeos Cubs, Leaders M N Schneider, Dorothy Curr
1st Keremeos Scouts, D R Leake SM, Dick Cawood ASM

1st Okanagan Falls Group
First Okanagan Falls Scouts, Robert Hall Scoutmaster
Group Committee Audrey Steeves

1st Oliver Group
1st Oliver Cubs, Ron Amos Akela
2nd Oliver Group, 2nd Oliver Cubs, Melvin Shannon Akela

2nd Oliver Group
2nd Oliver Scouts, Jim Smith Scoutmaster
President Dave Hopkins, replaced by R Shannon
Frank McDonald still a Group resource

1st Osoyoos Group
1st Osoyoos Cubs “A” Pack, Geoffrey King Akela, Stu Valentine ACM
1st Osoyoos Cubs “B” Pack, Mrs McHugh Akela, Ros Barton ACM, Eric Goodman ACM
1st Osoyoos Scouts, Harold King Scoutmaster
1st Rover Crew Don Jones Leader

The attached list is an example of the key things that we are missing for the Okanagan Boundary District prior to 1972. This page is from a tattered notebook that belonged to Frank McDonald.

District President Dr H R McLarty South OK)
District President Frank McDonald (Okanagan Boundary)
District Commissioner J.B. (Jim) Laidlaw (South OK)
ADC Gwyn Russell (South OK)
DSM Gordon Blewett (South OK)
DCM Dr J M McArthur, June Cuming (South OK)
District Commissioner Jim Mitchell (Okanagan Boundary)
Special Events: HRH Queen Elizabeth and Prince Philip visited Vernon. Many local Scouting groups travelled there.
Cub Camp is active at Glen Fir between Naramata and Chute Lake



3_1District Cub Camp at Glen Fir. About 1958 to 1960

Leave a Reply