No Comments on 1957

Patrol leader 1







1st Summerland Group
1stg Summerland Cubs
1st Summerland Scouts, G.M. Weiss Scoutmaster
Group Chair A.W. Watt
Sponsored by Branch 22, Royal Canadian Legion
Scouts Stan Krause, Dave Woolliams and Donald MacArthur achieved Queen Scout status
Scouts David Woolliams, Donald MacArthur and John Woolliams attended World Jamboree at Sutton Coldfield, England

2nd Summerland Group

2nd Summerland Cubs
2nd Summerland Scouts, Vern Campbell ASM
Group Chair Max McGibbon
Sponsored by United Church
1st Penticton Group

1st Penticton Cubs, Mrs D. McFarland Cubmaster
1st Penticton Scouts, Jack Stocks Scoutmaster, Ted Morgenstern ASM, Bill Findlay ASM
Rover Leader D. Jones
Group Chair Ted Morgenstern

Scout canoe_1






1957. Irwin Hobden with a group of Scouts
2nd Penticton Group
2nd Penticton Cubs, Elmer Mort Cubmaster
2nd Penticton Scouts, Bob Bradshaw Scoutmaster, Paddy Shipton ASM

3rd Penticton Group
3rd Penticton Cubs, Leaders Mrs AT White (Akela), Mrs C McLeod, Mrs Alice Rowe, Mrs J A Clark, Dorothy Day, Nell Clare
3rd Penticton Scouts, Irwin Hobden Scoutmaster
Sponsored by Anglican Church
Scout Ron Ramsey achieves Queen’s Scout status

4th Penticton Group
4th Penticton Cubs
4th Penticton Scouts
Group Chair Noel Grout
Sponsored by Knights of Columbus

5th Penticton Group
5th Penticton Cubs, Harry Chamberlain Cubmaster, Mrs Chamberlain ACM, Mrs T Clements ACM, J.G. Edwards ACM
5th Penticton Scouts, Leaders RC Gordon (honoured for previous 2 years of service)
Group Chair A Anderson

6th Penticton Group
6th Penticton Cubs, Leaders Mrs Pollitt (ACM)
6th Penticton Scouts, Ray Bird Scoutmaster
Sponsored by United Church
Steve Cannings Group Chair

7th Penticton Group
7th Penticton Cubs, Elinor Knight CM

8th Penticton Group
8th Penticton Cubs, Leaders Mr & Mrs R Clermont
Group Chair Ron Dean
Sponsored by Royal Canadian Legion
Started new group in Nov, 1957 with new charter

1st Naramata Group
1st Naramata Cubs, Mary Lamb Akela
1st Naramata Scouts, SM Victor Wilson, Mr Hancock ASM
Scout Philip Workman attends World Jamboree in Sutton Coldfield, England

1st Okanagan Falls Group
1st Okanagan Falls Cubs, Leaders E Bazley
1st Okanagan Falls Scouts restarted, Leaders Bob Hebley, B Kelley
Group Committee Audrey Steeves
Group Chair Jim Robison

1st Princeton Group
1st Princeton Cubs, Leaders B Logan, Graham Taylor, Cliff Caverly
1st Princeton Scouts, Leaders Bob Logan, George Gibson, Bill Stevens, Jim Sproston, Sandy Marsel

1st Oliver Group
1st Oliver Cubs
1st Oliver Scouts
Scout Robert Pearson attended World Jamboree in Sutton Coldfield, England

2nd Oliver Group
2nd Oliver Scouts, Jim Smith Scoutmaster
Dave Hopkins President

1st Osoyoos Group
1st Osoyoos Cubs “A” Pack, Geoffrey King Akela,  Mrs Barton ACM, Mrs Small ACM   (29 Cubs)
1st Osoyoos “B” Pack, Roy Degenstein Akela, Mrs McHugh ACM, Norman Norcross ACM  (30 Cubs)
1st Osoyoos Scouts, Harold King Scoutmaster, Ed Albrecht ASM (25 Scouts)
Scouts Peter Harrison, Donald Hoffman, David Clee, Peter Clee, Allan Fedor, John Mansfield and John Marsland achieve Queen’s Scout status

District Commissioner, J.B. (Jim) Laidlaw (South OK)
District Commissioner Jim Mitchell (Kobau)
Gwyn Russell ADC OK South)
Carleton MacNaughton District Scoutmaster (Kobau)
Gordon Blewett District Scoutmaster OK South)
District Cubmaster June Cuming, Isabel Macargar (OK South)
District President A F Cuming (OK South)
District President Frank MacDonald (“Similkameen Valley District”)???
Special events: B.C. Interior Patrol Leaders Conference. Penticton, March, 1957.

New Scout camp opened at Secrest near Oliver
Allan McCargar receives 10 year service pin (Summerland)


9th World Scout Jamboree – 1957
Sutton Park, England, 1957. The Jubilee Jamboree celebrating Scouting’s 50th anniversary. Over 30,000 Scouts from 80 countries were present. First to incorporate a Rover Moot and an Indaba. The year of B-P’s centenary. An amateur radio station operated from camp. A Scout from Pakistan hiked all the way. There was a 24-page camp newspaper, “Jubilee Journal”. And then, traditonally one might say, there was the night of the great storm – “Jamborain”. An obelisk was erected at Sutton Park to commemorate this anniversary of Scouting. Three Scouts from Summerland, one from Naramata and one from Oliver attended.

Leave a Reply