No Comments on 1951







Courtesy of the Osoyoos Museum Society, in their Neilson Collection. Exact date unknown, but suggested 1950s, “1st Osoyoos Scout Troop”.  Identities L-R are Bert Lethebe, Ed Chernoff, Jim Tasker, Ron Dodd, Unknown, Ray Hunt, Doug Rattray. Campsite north of Oliver between Wilcox Corner and White Lake Road

Groups active? Numbers?

a Rover Group was started mid-season by Harley Hatfield

South Okanagan District Executive now called “The Boy Scouts Association, South Okanagan District Council”

1st Summerland Group
1st Summerland Cubs, Isabel McCargar Cubmaster (previously 2nd Summerland Group?), Don Davis ACM, Allan McCargar ACM
1st Summerland Scouts, Don Fisher Scoutmaster, D M Munn ASM
Group Chair S.R. Cannings
Sponsored by Branch 22, Royal Canadian Legion
Scouts Geoffrey Solly, Richard Blewett, George Brake and Laverne Higgs achieved King Scout status
Scout Richard Lewis attended World Jamboree in Austria

2nd Summerland Group
2nd Summerland Cubs
2nd Summerland Scouts
Sponsored by United Church

1st Penticton Group
1st Penticton Cubs, Mrs Naish Akela
1st Penticton Scouts, Jack Stocks Scoutmaster

2nd Penticton Group
2nd Penticton Cubs
2nd Penticton Scouts

3rd Penticton Group
3rd Penticton Cubs
3rd Penticton Scouts, ASM Albert Bishop
Sponsored by Anglican Church

4th Penticton Group
4th Penticton Cubs

5th Penticton Group
5th Penticton Cubs
Sponsored by IOOF

1st Naramata Group
1st Naramata Cubs
1st Naramata Scouts

1st Kaleden Group
1st Kaleden Cubs

1st Cawston Group
1st Cawston Cubs
1st Cawston Scouts

1st Hedley Group
1st Hedley Scouts, Fred Brent Scoutmaster

1st Oliver Group
1st Oliver Cubs
1st Oliver Scouts, Cyril Overton Scoutmaster
Scout John Boone achieves King’s Scout status

1st Osoyoos Group
1st Osoyoos Cubs
1st Osoyoos Scouts, Harold King Scoutmaster

F.Carleton MacNaughton awarded Medit of Merit.
Jim Mitchell District Commissioner (OK Boundary)
J D Southworth District Commissioner (OK South)
Carleton McNaughton District Scoutmaster (OK Boundary)
Margaret Tidball DCM (OK South)
District President Dr. H R McLarty (OK South)

Doug Southworth awarded Long Service Medal


7th World Scout Jamboree – 1951
Salzkammergut, Bad Ischl, Austria, 1951. 12,884 Scouts were present. Simplicity was the keynote of the Jamboree. Seven towers were erected, each recalling a previous Jamboree. As the name of each was announced, a flag was hoisted on one of the towers and the song of that Jamboree sung. It was the first time that German Scouts were able to take part in a World Scout Jamboree as full members of the World Organization. One Scout attended from Japan. He knew no language other than his own and the word “Jamboree”, yet he made the journey with no problem. The sight of Scouts waving the welcome flags at the airport told him that he had arrived at the right place. Scout Richard Lewis from Summerland attended.



Leave a Reply