No Comments on 1997

Groups in District

Numbers: 561 total youth
260 Beavers in 12 Colonies
221 Cubs in 12 Packs
77 Scouts in 6 Troops
2 Venturers in 1 Company

1st Summerland Group
1st Summerland Beavers, Keith Manders Leader
1st Summerland Cubs Group 1, Ron Townson Akela
1st Summerland Cubs Group 2, Ray Aschenbrenner Akela
1st Summerland Scouts, Joe Sardinha Scoutmaster, ASM Brian Dean
Group Chair Phil Epp
Group Scouter Brian Dean

1st Penticton Group
1st Penticton Beavers
1st Penticton Cubs, Grant Neilson
1st Penticton Scouts, Dave Mitchell, Gordon Houston
Group Chair Doug Lonstrup

2nd Penticton Group
2nd Penticton Beavers, Rob Robinson
2nd Penticton Cubs, Jim Gainsforth
2nd Penticton Scouts, Tim Gladish, Brian Mann, Will Schulz
Group Chair Ian Chapman
Group Scouter Brian Mann

4th Penticton Group
4th Penticton Beavers, Rob Robinson
4th Penticton Cubs, Bernie Surina
4th Penticton Scouts, Rob Wakeling, Gerry Owen
Group Chair John Partington
Group Scouter Gerry Owen

7th Penticton Group
7th Penticton Cubs, Kathleen Fairweather
7th Penticton Scouts

8th Penticton Group
8th Penticton Beavers, Greta Henning
8th Penticton Cubs, Grant Nielson
Group Chair Wendy Smith
Group Scouter Grant Nielson

9th Penticton Group
9th Penticton Scouts, Paul Oviatt

10th Penticton Group
10th Penticton Beavers, Barb Wolanski
10th Penticton Cubs, Bruce Watt
Group Chair Matt Attrill
Group Scouter Linda Sankey

1st Naramata/Manitou Group
1st Naramata Beavers, Mark Peeren
1st Naramata Cubs, Martin Dicken

1st Okanagan Falls Group
1st Okanagan Falls Beavers, Leader Pat Allies
1st Okanagan Falls Cubs, Jack Kinsey
Group Chair Glen Dahl

1st South Similkameen Group
1st South Similkameen Beavers, Gail Thompson Leader
1st South Similkameen Cubs, Lillian Kyle
Group Chair Shaun Francis

1st Princeton Group
1st Princeton Beavers, Cheryl McEnvoy
1st Princeton Cubs, Brent Franklin

1st Oliver Group
1st Oliver Beavers, Kay Minshull
1st Oliver Cubs, Michael Peterson

1st Osoyoos Group
1st Osoyoos Beavers
1st Osoyoos Cubs, Ron Flexhaug
Group Chair Gerry Gordon

Lloyd Higgs receives 15 year service pin.
Dick Tallon receives Medal of Merit
Area Commissioner Irwin Hobden
District Councillor Jan Hanna, Bob Osbourne

The 9th Canadian Jamboree (CJ97) was held in Thunder Bay, Ontario, July 12 to 20, 1997. A major event with 13,879 participants, Canada Jamboree 97 made use of a variety of locations across the city and the area. These sites included Boulevard Lake, the Marina, and Sleeping Giant Provincial Park. This attempt to “Wake the Giant” set a new standard for future Jamborees. District youth who attended include Alan Pronger, Chris Pearson, Clayton Gladish, Daniel Sutherland, Duane Louis, Jeffery Symonds, Jeremy Draude, Vincent Lau, Jeremy Keeping, Kaj Webber, Karl Pronger, Mark Wakeling, Matt Lang, Michael Owen, Mike Symonds, Mike Bowling, Brad Gludovatz, Peter Houston, Shane Ferguson and David Lonstrup. They were accompanied by adult Scouters Tim Gladish and Rob Wakeling.

Leave a Reply