No Comments on 1948

In October, 1948, there were 240 youths and leaders registered in the District from Kaleden north

1st Summerland Group
1st Summerland Cubs, Arthur Advocaat Cubmaster
1st Summerland Scouts, D.V. Don Fisher Scoutmaster replaces Gordon Blewitt, Cyril Woodbridge ASM, Miltimore ASM, Walsh ASM
Group Chair S.W.J. Feltham
Sponsored by Branch 22, Royal Canadian Legion
Scout Richard Lewis achieved King Scout status
2nd Summerland Group
2nd Summerland Cubs, Rev H.R. Whitmore Akela, Walter Bleasdale ACM
Sponsored by United Church
1st Penticton Group
1st Penticton Cubs, Margaret Tidball Cubmaster
1st Penticton Scouts, Jack Stocks Scoutmaster, Ramsay McDonald ASM
Group Chair J.H. Vass
2nd Penticton Group
2nd Penticton Cubs, Mrs Wilcox Akela, Mrs Clow ACM
2nd Penticton Scouts, Scoutmaster G Abbott, replaced by Charles Mitchell
Sponsored by St Andrews Presbyterian Church
3rd Penticton Group
3rd Penticton Cubs, Mrs Naish Cubmaster
3rd Penticton Scouts, Fred McNeil SM
1st Naramata Group
1st Naramata Cubs
1st Naramata Scouts, Jack Drought ASM
Group Chair C Raynor
1st Kaleden Group
1st Kaleden Scouts, Scoutmaster G Alington
1st Cawston Group (included in South OK District by mutual agreement)
1st Cawston Cubs
1st Cawston Scouts
Sponsored by Board of Trade
1st Hedley Group
1st Hedley Scout Troop, Fred Brent Scoutmaster
1st Nickel Plate Group
1st Nickel Plate Cubs, Morris Nevile Cubmaster
The Nickel Plate Cub Pack history of 1947/48 and 1948/49 has been preserved at the Hedley Museum. Anecdotally I believe it existed until 1954 or 1955, but there is a possibility that the Cubs transferred to a Hedley Cub Pack after 1950 until the mine closed in 1955.
1st Oliver Group
1st Oliver Cubs, Captain Harrison Akela
1st Oliver Scouts, Carleton McNaughton Scoutmaster, Cyril Overton ASM
1st Osoyoos Group
1st Osoyoos Cubs
1st Osoyoos Scouts, Harold King ASM
Scouting added a paid Field Executive in the Interior, Jack Scrivener from Penticton in October, 1948
District President R W Craig
District Commissioner Harley Hatfield (South OK)
District Scoutmaster F. Alington
District Scoutmaster Gordon Blewitt

Leave a Reply