No Comments on 1975

Princeton was merged in to the District this year

1st Summerland Group
1st Summerland Beavers, Mrs. B. Johnson Leader (United Church sponsorship)
1st Summerland Cubs, C.R. Hart Akela, ACM Bill Cairns, ACM Les Johnson, ACM Ross Ackles
1st Summerland Scouts, A.A. Landriault Scoutmaster, ASM Tom May, ASM Ross Fowler, ASM A.C. Elliott, Wayne Landriault ASM
Group Chair George Wardle
Sponsored by Branch 22, Royal Canadian Legion
Scout Mark Inouye attended World Jamboree in Lillehammer, Norway
Scouts Dwain Connolley and Kim Schroyen achieve Queen’s Scout award
2nd Summerland Group
2nd Summerland Beavers
2nd Summerland Cubs, A Wardle Akela, ACM Lester Mallory, ACM Gerald Hutchinson, ACM Jim Brown (Baloo)
2nd Summerland Scouts
Sponsored by United Church
1st Penticton Group
1st Penticton Beavers, Marcia Dean Leader
1st Penticton Cubs, Stu Patterson Akela, ACM Mary Theodosakis (Raksha), ACM Glen Wilander (Hathi), ACM Larry Gray (Baloo), ACM Lloyd Romfo (Bagheera)
1st Penticton Scouts, Victor Mollerup ASM, ASM Pat Field, ASM Derek Lindsay, ASM Don Allen
1st Penticton Venturers restarted this year
Scouts Alan Dean, Rick Delacherois, Kerry Kenyon and Blair Ritheridge achieved Queen’s Scout status
3rd Penticton Group
3rd Penticton Beavers, Leaders Sue Davies (TicTac), Phyllis McIntosh (Rainbow), Bob Bebault (Hawkeye), Anna Petre (Malak)
3rd Penticton Cubs, Lynda Warr Akela, ACM Colin Dodd
3rd Penticton Scouts/Venturers, Randy Manuel Leader/Advisor
Sponsored by Anglican Church
Group Chair Jackie Munro
4th Penticton Group
4th Penticton Cubs, Terry Wells Akela, Don Knox, ACM Bob Denesiuk, ACM Barry Leigh, ACM Lana Hobden
6th Penticton Group
6th Penticton 6th Penticton Scouts, Leaders Mike Wright, Ron Willander
8th Penticton Group
8th Penticton Cubs, Ernie Gardener Akela, ACM Bill Thompson
8th Penticton Scouts, none at start, restarted by Scoutmaster Andy Rae in April/76
Group Chair Greta Rae
9th Penticton Group
9th Penticton Cubs, Don Knox Akela , ACM Dave Hobbs, ACM Doug Sparks, ACM David Brooks, ACM Linda Lawrence
9th Penticton Scouts, Ross Collver Scoutmaster, ASM Dr Sandy Ross, ASM Murray Timm, ASM Derek Lindsay
Group Chair Dr Sandy Ross
1st West Bench Group
1st West Bench Cubs
1st West Bench Scouts, SM Ian Folkers
1st Naramata Group
1st Naramata Cubs, Perry Bissonette Akela, ACM Clair Lintott (Rakshaw), ACM Carl Gittel (Kaa)
1st Naramata Scouts, Leaders Jack Wilmshurst
1st Kaleden Group
1st Kaleden Beavers, Leaders Ethel Bergstad, Jeanne Lamb, Greg Sharp, Robin Tymm
Group Chair Stuart Culver
Hi-Tillicum Princeton Group
Hi-Tillicum Beavers
Vermillion Forks Cubs, Barb McDiarmid Akela
Hi_Tillicum Scouts, Bruce Rudolph Scoutmaster, ASM Dick McDiarmid
1st Keremeos Group
1st Keremeos Cubs, Akela Murphy Shewchuk
1st Okanagan Falls Group
1st Okanagan Falls Cubs
1st Okanagan Falls Scouts, ASM Andy May, ASM Joe Lemire
Group Committee Audrey Steeves
1st Oliver Group
1st Oliver Cubs, Don Shippitt Akela
1st Oliver Scouts, Leader Dan Roberts
Group Committee Shirley Roberts
2nd Oliver Group
2nd Oliver Cubs, Harold King ACM
1st Osoyoos Group
1st Osoyoos Cubs
1st Osoyoos Scouts, Will Beach Scoutmaster (left March/76), ASM Steve Miller, ASM Gordon Shepherd
Group Chair Irene Vereeben

DC Scout Don Allen
ADC Scouts Don Allen
ADC Cubs D Knox
ADC Beavers Marcia Dean
ADC Oliver/Osoyoos John Gludovatz
Program Director Oliver/Osoyoos Harold King
Uniform Special Events Jack Sworder
District Council President Don Fisher
Regional President Bob Winter
Bruce McDiarmid ADC Scouts (Princeton)
ADC Cubs Barb McDiarmid (Princeton)

Gordon Blewett Memorial Trophy introduced for Camporee for “most Scoutlike Patrol”.

14th World Scout Jamboree – Lillehammer, Norway, 1975. His Majesty King Olav V opened “Nordjamb ’75”, as it became known, in July 1975 in the presence of 17,000 Scouts from 94 countries. The British contingent, led by Lord Baden-Powell, was 1,624 strong and included Scouts from Branches in Bermuda, Hong Kong and Rhodesia.This Jamboree was a fine example of international co-operation on the part of the five Nordic countries responsible for its organisation. The happy relationships that developed were in large measures due to the warm hospitality given to almost every visiting Scout in the homes of the hosts. As well as traditional pursuits such as hiking, orienteering and camping, this Jamboree included in the programme several activities involving modern technology. Scout Mark Inouye from Summerland attended. Scout Mark Inouye from Summerland attended.

Leave a Reply