No Comments on 1939

Groups active? Numbers?

1st Summerland Group
1st Summerland Scouts, J.H. Clarke, Scoutmaster, Gordon Blewett SM, Don Fisher ASM, Bill Barkwell ASM
Group Chair H. Clough
Sponsored by Branch 22, Royal Canadian Legion
Name changed to “Summerland Scout Association” (Mr. Clough main contact)

1st Penticton Group,
1st Penticton Cubs, Mrs Naish Akela, one assistant, 18 cubs
1st Penticton Scouts, R.G. Harris Scoutmaster,  Mr Crossman ASM, 38 Scouts
Name change to “1st Penticton Boy Scout Troop”

1st Princeton Group
1st Princeton Scouts

1st Oliver Group,
1st Oliver Scouts, Carleton MacNaughton Scoutmaster
Group President F Elliot

1st Osoyoos Group
1st Osoyoos Scouts
Group Chair O A King
Note: there were a succession of Scoutmasters and Assistants over the next 13 years. These included Charles Edwards, Ewart McNaughton, W Howard, Harold King, A Gruhl, E Albrecht, G W Letts (autumn 1939 Edwards was SM, McNaughton ASM)

District Commissioner Jim Mitchell (Kubau)
Jim Mitchell honoured for 6 years as Scoutmaster
11th Annual Patrol Leader Conference in Rutland, October, 1939

Leave a Reply